Jan Jelinek – Loop Finding Jazz Records


Format- 2xLP Album
Label – Faitiche
Genre- Electronic Downtempo


A1 – Moiré (Piano Organ)
A2 – Rock In The Videoage
B1 – They , Them
B2 – Them , Their
B3 – Moiré (Guitar & Horns
C1 – Tendency
C2 – Moiré (Strings
D1 – Do Dekor
D2 – Drift
D3 – Poren

Loop Finding Jazz Records, Jan Jelinek s acclaimed debut album, first appeared back in 2001. It has since become an in-demand item, making this reissue more than handy. It remains a fine album; a blazed shuffle through a sonic world where dub techno, ambient, minimal house, jazz and downtempo grooves and seductive vinyl crackle merge into one intoxicating hybrid sound. It’s not showy and over-the-top, but rather becalmed and subtly seductive. In other words, it’s still a brilliant album and if you don’t own already own a copy, you should !




16 years since it came out on ~scape, Loop-Finding-Jazz-Records remains a cult favorite, and understandably so. It’s soothing but with a subtle kick. Its textures are as tactile as they are abstract. Its arrangements are as mesmerizing as the moiré patterns that inspired them. The album is an aural experience scarcely surpassed in electronic music. While its combination of glitch, ambient and minimal house feels very 2001, it still sounds surprisingly fresh today—just listen to Call Super’s fabric 92, which gets going with what passes for this album’s main banger, “Tendency.” Now the album returns on Jelinek’s own label, Faitiche, newly packaged with two tracks from the related Tendency EP.

If Loop-Finding-Jazz-Records‘ sounds are abstract, its music is deceptively traditional—this tension is what makes the album so good. Submerged in the murk as they may be, a couple tracks here have standard house rhythms (“They, Them,” “Tendency”). Even the stranger grooves, like the percolating beat of “Do Dekor” or the gurgling swamp of “Moiré (Piano & Organ),” fall within a DJ-friendly tempo somewhere around 120 BPM. Mellow chords drift through each odd composition, bringing their cold textures to life. For something so obsessed with artificial aesthetics, the album strikes a surprising emotional chord, floating between drained languor and mellow bliss.

As much of a departure as it is in most ways, Loop-Finding-Jazz-Records shares at least one thing in common with the music it samples: its effect on the listener. While certainly more warped than, say, Kind Of Blue, it has the same drifting motion that defines that kind of low-key jazz. Heard from beginning to end, it’s an absorbing sequence of strange and dreamlike aural scenes, each dovetailing flawlessly into the next—something maintained with the addition of “Moiré (Guitar & Horns)” and “Poren,” the latter of which might be an even better final track than “Drift,” which closed the 2001 edition. Loop-Finding-Jazz-Records is an achievement in electronic production and audiophile sound design. GOAT status album.



Additional information

Weight 0.60 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Jan Jelinek – Loop Finding Jazz Records”