Jeremy Spellacey ‎– Crown Ruler Sound


FORMAT – 2xLP Compilation
LABEL – Crown Ruler Sound
GENRE – Disco,World Music,Funk


A1 – Ezy & Isaac – Let Your Body Move (Oba Balu Balu)
A2 – Stimela – I Love You
A3 – Kosmik 3 – I’m Gonna Pack (Jeremy Spellacey Edit)
A4 – Mike Fabulous – Wang East (Instrumental)
B1 – Feladey – Forest Music (Anambra Na-imo)
B2 – Larry Maluma & Kalimba – Kamusale
B3 – Acayouman – Funk Around
B4 – J.K. Mandegué – Afrika
C1 – The Staple Singers – Slippery People (Club Version)
C2 – Brother Resistance – Can I Get A Witness
C3 – Legacy – Monday Blues
D1 – La Banda De Martin – Mi Dueño
D2 – Devon Russell – Move On Up
D3 – Costa & Chyps – Detroit City Cats (Instrumental Long Version)
D4 – Wilfred Percussion – Andei

Crown Ruler Records co-founder Jeremy Spellacey is highly regarded within the crate-digging community, primarily for his ability to sniff out copies of obscure – but, naturally, high quality – boogie-era disco records from Africa and the Caribbean. On this fine compilation, Spacetalk has offered the New Zealander the opportunity to showcase some of those finds, alongside a smattering of better-known favourites and more recent cuts (see Mike Fabulous’s overlooked modern boogie gem “Wang East”). Predictably, Spellacey has delivered the goods, serving up humid, exotic and loved-up gems galore, including the fluttering brilliance of Stimela’s “I Love You”, the marimba-laden Balearic boogie of Feladey’s “Forest Music” and Devon Russell’s impeccable reggae-soul cover of Curtis Mayfield’s “Move on Up”.


Additional information

Weight 0.8 kg