Motohiko Hamase – Intaglio


LABEL – Studio Mule
GENRE – Downtempo,Electronic


A1 – Circlet
A2 -Lung
A3 – Intaglio
B1 – Elen Vital
B2 – Oiseaus A La Pluie
B3 – Aborigine
B4 – Vital

LP version. Studio Mule present a reissue of Motohiko Hamase’s Intaglio, originally released in 1986. With seven haunting, stylistically hard-to-pigeonhole compositions, Hamase drifts around new age worlds with howling wind sounds, gentle bass pickings, and discreet drums that mind remind listeners of the power of Japanese taiko percussions. Also, propulsive fourth-world-grooves call the tune and all compositions avoid a foreseeable structure. At large his albums seem to be improvised and yet are deeply composed. Music that works like shuffling through an imaginary sound library full of spiritual deepness, that even spreads, in its shaky moments, some profound relaxing moods. The release marks another highlight in Studio Mule’s mission to excavate neglected Japanese music that somehow has more to offer in the present age than at the time of his original birth. Must have!


Additional information

Weight 0,5 kg